Government Hospitals Solomon Islands

There are 9 provinces in the Solomon Islands, each province has its own public hospital with an on site doctor except for Central Province and Rennell-Bellona province.   Those hospitals in the Solomon Islands with well established links with DAiSI® are listed.  For these hospitals,  volunteering is a relatively straight forward process.

The most popular hospitals (from North to South) are:  Taro Hospital (Choiseul Province) in the far North. GizoHospital (Western Province), Buala Hospital (Isabel Province),  Kilu ‘ufi (Auki) Hospital  (Malaita Province) the National Referral Hospital (NRH), Honiara (Guadalcanal Province), and Kirakira Hospital and Namuga Hospital (Makira Province), the latter currently under construction with completion expected early 2017.  In the far south is Lata Hospital, Santa Cruz (Temotu Province).   Tulagi Hospital, Florida Island, (Central Province) is without a resident doctor.

Electives at any of these hospital can be organised by emailing or calling the Hospital Director or Nurse in Charge at each respective hospital.
Specialist doctors interested in visiting any of these hospitals can email Karen Kiko (Supervisor of Overseas Specialist Visits).